Shropshire and Wrekin Fire and Rescue Authority (FRA)

Shropshire Fire and Rescue Service is controlled by the Shropshire and Wrekin Fire and Rescue Authority.

Shropshire Council logoBorough of Telford and Wrekin logo

Shropshire and Wrekin Fire Authority is a statutory fire authority constituted under the Fire and Rescue Services Act 2004 and The Shropshire Fire Services (Combination Scheme) Order 1997 (‘the combination scheme’).

Fire authorities derive their operational powers from the Act and other fire safety regulations, whilst the Combination Scheme establishes the Fire Authority and the fire brigade for the combined area of Shropshire. The Fire Authority’s principal decision-making powers affecting members of the public are contained within the Act and the Combination Scheme, and they should be referred to when detailed information is sought.

The composition of the Fire Authority is determined in accordance with the provisions of the Combination Scheme, which allows for up to twenty-five Members to be appointed to the Fire Authority by Shropshire County Council and Telford & Wrekin Council, the ‘constituent authorities’. The number of representative members from each authority (fifteen in total) is proportionate to the number of local government electors in the area of each constituent authority.

The Fire Authority is responsible for the overall Corporate Governance of the organisation, including its strategic direction, setting its budget, establishing goals for management and monitoring the achievement of those goals. To help carry out these responsibilities the Fire Authority has set up various committees and panels with specific remits.

Detailed information regarding Fire Authority Members, meetings, committees, the Code of Corporate Governance, policies and procedures can be found in this section of our website.

All members are bound by the Authority's Code of Conduct to declare any personal interests that they might have. A guide to member's personal interests can be found on the CLG website.